Defining Rubric Levels


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Rubric Levels: The levels of accomplishment of the rubric rating scale. Recommended to have 3 – 5 levels, and always arrange highest to lowest. Instructors may keep the default language (Level 4 — Level 1) or they may personalize the level rating scale. For example, rubric levels could be broken down into categories such as:

  • Excellent, Good, Acceptable, Unacceptable
  • Above Average, Sufficient, Developing, Needs improvement.
  • Level 4, Level 3, Level 2, Level 1

  1. From the Assessments menu, select Rubrics.
    Screenshot of the Assessments dropdown menu, indicating Rubrics item selected
  2. Select the Title of the rubric.
  3. Select the Levels and Criteria Tab.
    Screenshot indicating Levels and Criteria tab selected
  4. Select the drop-​down menu for the level to be edited, then select Edit Level.
    Screenshot of the Level dropdown menu, indicating Edit Level item selected
  5. Enter a Level Name.
  6. Enter a Score (points) for the level.
    NOTE: For custom point rubrics, you may enter a different score (points) for each criterion.
  7. (OPTIONAL) Enter Feedback for each criterion.
  8. Select Save.
  9. Repeat Steps 48 for each additional level.

Come visit the eLearning team in TLC 427 for assistance.
If you are unable to visit in person, please contact us by email
at lcc_​elearning@​lcc.​edu, or by phone at (517) 4831839.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • yes   no